Cirrus

Kneeling in dusty grass
I lift my eyes to the sky
Cirrus stroking azure
Mirroring the waves below
The wind breathes
Across it all

Arms wide, I breath in
Yet the only breath I desire –
The one given to me –
Is gone, snatched,
Thrown beyond
A horizon bruised.

Buried beneath hill,
Hidden by stone and soil,
Flower and grass alone stand vigil,
Forgetting their own charge
As time recedes
And memories decay.

For lost half-moments,
And long-forgotten hours!
Would that these skies and seas
Would give these things
So trifling precious
Back to me.

Leave a Reply

